top of page

NCAA Women's Bowling Crowns 2022 Conference Champions

By Jennifer Roback

On March 27, 2022, bowlers across the NCAA fought for an automatic spot in the upcoming Bowling Championships by competing in their annual conference tournaments.

The 2022 winners include:

North East Conference (NEC)

The Sacred Heart Pioneers were able to claim their fifth conference title after defeating Long Island University 2-0 in the mega-match format.

Along with winning the conference championship, Coach Becky Kregling won the NEC Coach of the Year award, and freshman Rachel Glowniak won the NEC Rookie of the Year award.

East Coast Conference (ECC)

The Wilmington University bowling team won their first-ever conference title after defeating Adelphi University 2-0 in the mega-match format.

Southland Conference

The Vanderbilt University women's bowling team won their fourth conference title after defeating Youngstown State 2-0 in the mega-match format.

The Commodores, who won the national championships in 2007 and 2018, also claimed the Southland Conference title in 2021.

Junior Mabel Cummins was crowned the tournament's MVP while Sophmore Amanda Naujokas was named to the All-Tournament Team.

Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC)

The North Carolina A&T Aggies defended their conference title after defeating Delaware State 4-0.

Along with defending their title, Coach Kim Terrell-Kearney won the MEAC Coach of the Year award, and Sophmore Melanie Katen won the conference's Bowler of the Year award.

Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC)

The McKendree University Bearcats defending their conference title after beating the University of Central Missouri.

Along the way, the Bearcats also made history by bowling the first baker 300 in conference championship history.

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC)

Medaille College took home the AMCC conference championship title for the fifth year in a row after defeating the top-seeded Saint Vincent College.

Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA)

For the sixth year in a row, the Bowie State University Bulldogs took home the CIAA conference championship title after defeating Fayetteville State University 4-0.

Senior Cayla Snowden was also named Food Lion Women’s Bowling Tournament MVP in addition to receiving all-tournament honors.

Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC)

For the first time since 2017, Alabama State University claimed the SWAC title after defeating Southern 4-3 in bracket play.

Teams will find out their opening round opponents and regional sites during the NCAA Selection Show on March 30, 2022. During the show, eight at large teams will also be revealed.

The 2022 National Championships are scheduled to be held from April 15-16, at Wayne Webb's Columbus Bowl in Columbus, Ohio.

bottom of page